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10 website metrics you need to understand

There are a variety of website metrics that you need to understand to make data-driven decisions for your website. In this article, we will cover the top 10 website metrics which you need to understand to conquer search engines’ ranking algorithms.  
Traffic (overall traffic, number of unique visitors, traffic source etc.) is the lifeblood of any website. It's the number of people who visit your site and see your content. Without traffic, you can't generate leads or make sales. Engagement (average pages per session, top and exit pages) is a measure of how interesting or useful your content is to your audience. The more engaged someone is with your content, the more likely they are to become a lead or customer. Conversions are the ultimate goal of any website. Whether you want someone to sign up for your newsletter, buy your product, or contact you for more information, conversions are what matter most. Here are the top 10 website metrics which we think you should look out for to optimise your website performance in search engines.

1. Unique visitors

Knowing the number of total website visitors and page views helps you understand whether your overall traffic is increasing, or you if need to change the content strategy or keywords research. However, sometimes, a very important metric that happens to be overlooked is the number of Unique visitors. Keeping track of the number of unique visitors helps you understand the reach of new users to build stronger brand awareness. By definition, unique visitors are the number of individuals who have visited your page during a period of time. It could be one day, week or month. If one person visits your website multiple times throughout the day, it would still count as one unique visitor.

2. Traffic source

Analysing traffic sources is important as it allows you to track the effectiveness of your marketing activities. Traffic source also helps to better recognise (potential) customers and possibly better target subsequent content. By analysing the different types of traffic, you can understand:
  • Where the traffic is coming from
  • Who is your target audience
  • Visitor behaviour
  • ROI from digital marketing activities
All this information helps to develop a functional digital marketing campaign that attracts the right type of traffic.

3. Average pages per session

A survey by LittleData carried out during March 2022 on 6,247 sites concluded that if a site visitor views 4.0 pages per session then you would rank in the amongst the best 20% of sites they benchmarked, and more than 5.2 places you in the best 10%. Pages per session (all devices) of less than 1.4 would place you with the worst-performing sites.

4. Bounce rate

Bounce rate refers to the number of visitors who leave a page without taking any action, such as purchasing, filling out a form, or clicking on a link or button. A bounce is defined in Analytics as a session that only sends one request to the Analytics server, such as when a user visits one page on your site and then leaves without sending any other requests to the Analytics server during that session. What constitutes a satisfactory bounce rate? A bounce rate of 56% to 70 % is high, even though there could be a good reason for it, whilst a bounce rate of 41 to 55 % is considered average. The ideal bounce rate for a website is between 26 and 40 percent (SEMrush blog).


5. Top pages

In Google Analytics you can easily view your website’s popular landing pages. This is a good indicator of which pages should be the most navigable for your visitors, as this is the content they are looking for. Now that you know which pages your visitors visit the most, you should examine how your site functions in relation to those pages. Is it easy to get to those pages on your site? Is there a reason for your visitor to stay on your site after they've finished viewing the content on a popular page?

6. Exit pages

Exit pages are important to track because they give you an idea of which pages on your website are not converting visitors into leads.
The exit rate for most websites is about 20% - meaning that these visitors leave your site without converting. If your exit rate is higher than 20%, then you need to investigate how to improve your website design or content strategy.

7. Conversion rate

In broad terms, the website conversion rate is the percentage of website visitors who complete a desired action on your site. As a result of this action, they are transformed from visitors to leads (or customers). Downloading an ebook, signing up for a trial, completing a purchase, subscribing to a course, downloading a mobile app or scheduling a demo are examples of such desired actions. The better your marketing performs with your audience, the higher your website conversion rate. How is the conversion rate calculated? Conversion rate = (conversions/ total visitors) x 100. For example, if you wanted to calculate the conversion rate for a landing page that received 5,000 hits but only 400 conversions last month, your formula would be as follows: (400/5000) x 100 = 8% conversion rate.

8. Website speed

A slow website can hurt your search engine rankings and frustrate your users. That's why it's important to optimise your site for speed. But how do you know if your site is fast enough? Google's PageSpeed Insights tool is one of the easiest ways to get started with website speed. Just enter your URL and click "analyse." From there, you'll get a report on how your website stacks up, as well as recommendations on how to improve your speed.
Caching is a great way to improve your site speed. It allows your web server to store frequently accessed data in memory, so it doesn't have to retrieve it from the database every time a user requests a page.
Images are often the biggest culprits when it comes to slow loading times. By optimising your images for faster loading, you can make a big impact on your site speed.
Redirects can also add unnecessary delays to your page loading times. By minimising redirects, you can improve your site speed and keep users happy.

9. Keywords rankings

The process of choosing the right keywords for your business can seem daunting, however if you follow these three simple steps, you can narrow down your options and choose keywords that will help you reach your target audience.
  1. Google's Keyword Planner is a free keyword research tool that allows you to find keywords related to your business and calculate their monthly search volume.
  2. Check your competitors ranking keywords.
  3. Update your website content and meta data to include keywords and increase keywords density which leads to better ranking position.

10. Click through rate

Click through rate (CTR) is a metric that measures the number of clicks on a link or call to action (CTA) relative to the number of times it is seen. A high CTR indicates that users are interested in the content on your website and are more likely to convert into customers. Here are some tips for increasing your CTR:
  • Use catchy headlines and compelling visuals.
  • Write interesting and well-researched content.
  • Promote your content on social media and other channels.
  • Test different CTAs to see which ones perform best.
If you want your site to rank on the first page of search engine rankings, we can help. Contact us to get a consultation on how to optimise and improve your SEO efforts.

#DigitalMarketing #SEO #WebPresence